This is a Three day notice form that is issued to a tenant by his/her landlord when he hasn’t paid the rent to the Landlord and the Landlord wants to evict the tenant by giving him a 3 day notice to either pay the rent or to quit the lease and vacate the premises. If the rent isn’t paid by the end of the third day by the tenant then the Landlord has the power to file and eviction lawsuit on the Tenant and evict him. This form is only applicable in the State of California in the United States of America.
You need to fill in the details in the form like the name of the Tenants who are in possession of the Premises under Lease, the Address of the Premises. Then the amount of rent due has to be mentioned along with the duration for which the rent hasn’t been paid.
Then the name of the Landlord to whom the Rent is due, and if the Landlord isn’t available then the name of the person to whom the rent has to be paid in the absence of the landlord and the address of the person mentioned above.
Secondly the warning is mentioned where if the rent isn’t paid in three days from the date of receipt of this notice, then the Landlord can and will file a lawsuit for the eviction of the Tenant.
Download the form and use it to serve a notice of three days to your tenant if they haven’t paid their rent.
Text Version of the Form
———————– Page 1———————–
Three-Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit
Tenant(s) in possession of the premises at _____________________________________________________________,
City of _________________________________________, County of __________________________ , California.
Please take notice that the rent on these premises occupied by you, in the amount of $ __________________, for rent due for the
following period from __________________________to ___________________________, is now due and payable.
YOU ARE HEREBY REQUIRED to pay this amount within THREE (3) DAYS from the date of service of this notice on you, or to
vacate and surrender possession of the premises. Your failure to do so will result in legal proceedings being initiated against you to
recover possession of the premises, declare the forfeiture of the rental agreement or lease under which you occupy the premises, and
recover rents, damages, and costs of suit.
RENT IS TO BE PAID TO:
the undersigned, or
the following person: ________________________________________________________________________
AT THE FOLLOWING ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________, California, phone: _______________________________________
IN THE FOLLOWING MANNER:
In person. Usual days and hours for rent collection are: ____________________________________________
by mail to the person and address indicated above _________________________________________________
by deposit to account _________________________ at ______________________________, a financial institution located
within 5 miles of your rental, at ___________________________________, California
by electronic funds transfer procedure previously established.
Date: ____________________________ ___________________________________________________ _______
State law permits former tenants to reclaim abandoned personal property left at the former address of the tenant, subject to certain
conditions. You may or may not be able to reclaim property without incurring additional costs, depending on the cost of storing the
property and the length of time before it is reclaimed. In general, these costs will be lower the sooner you contact your former landlord
after being notified that the property belonging to you was left behind after you moved out.
Proof of Service
I __________________________________________________, the undersigned, being at least 18 years of age, served this notice, of
which this is a true copy, on _____________________________________, one of the occupants listed above as follows:
___ On __________________, _____, I delivered the notice to the occupant personally.
___ On __________________, _____, I delivered the notice to a person of suitable age and discretion at the occupant’s
residence/business after being attempted personal service at the occupant’s residence, and business, if known. On
__________________, _____, I mailed a second copy to the occupant at his or her own residence.
___ On __________________, _____, I posted the notice in a conspicuous place on the property, after having attempted personal
service at the occupant’s residence, and business, if known, and after having been unable to find there a person of suitable age and
discretion. On __________________, _____, I mailed a second copy to the occupant at the property.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.
Date: ____________________________ _______________________________________________
Review California 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit Form
California 3 Day Notice to Pay Rent or Quit Form Reviews
3 day notice
LANDLORD AND MORE
UNDER LANDLORD AGENTS SIGNATURE REPLACE WHAT YOU HAVE AND STATE THIS
*As required by law, you are hereby notified that a negative credit report reflecting on your credit record may be submitted to a
credit reporting agency if you fail to fulfill the terms of your credit obligations." CC1785.26(c) (2).
Sec. 594 of the Penal Code of California
"Every person who maliciously injures, or destroys any real property not his own . . . is guilty of vandalism." (A Felony or Misdemeanor)
THIS ACCOMPLISHES 3 THINGS
1. COMMUNICATES STRENGTH
2. SEVERITY OF NON PAYMENT EFFECTING CREDIT, WHICH IN TODAYS WORLD EFFECTS EMPLOYMENT
3. REFERENCE TO SEC, 594 PENAL CODE MAKES THEM AWARE THAT IF THE TENANT TAKES THIS ACTION THEY CAN BE PROSECUTED CRIMINALY. SO IT MAY WORK PREVENTITIVELY.
ALSO I HAVE BEEN THINKING OF ADDING SOMETHING TO THIS EFFECT;
AS PER YOUR RENTAL AGREEMENT ALL COST'S ASSOCIATED WITH EITHER A COURT ACTION OR COLLECTION WILL BE BORN BY THE TENANT.
I DO LIKE YOUR FORM SPECIFICLY THE SECTION OF PAYMENT DIRECTLY TO A BANK, WHICH I AGAIN ADDED " OR ANY XYZ BANK BRANCH "
I AM SORRY , BUT I DO NOT AGREE WITH THE VERBAGE YOU HAVE UNDER LANDLORDS SIGNATURE, IT ALLOWS A TENANT TO THINK THAT THE LANDLORD WILL JUST KEEP THEIR BELONGINGS, WHICH THE LANDLORD IS ONLY OBLIGATED TO KEEP IF THE VALUE IS OVER $300, AND THAT VALUE IS ARBITRARYLY DECIDED BY THE LANDLORD WITH COMMON SENCE.”